In the early 1980s, Dr Hilary Rodrigues, a practising dentist to this day, began experimenting with old, traditional Newfoundland recipes for making blueberry wines. His vision of opening Newfoundland’s first winery was realised in 1993. The winery’s first offering was our signature blueberry wine, made with wild Newfoundland low-bush blueberries. Our family of wines expanded over the years and have been honoured with a variety of national and international awards.The addition of a traditional European copper pot distillery, the only commercial distillery in the province, has allowed us to further increase our offerings to include liqueurs, brandies and iceberg vodka.
Visiting our winery allows you to step back into a slice of Newfoundland history. The Markland Cottage Hospital was built in 1935 and was one of 19 cottage hospitals built in Newfoundland and Labrador to serve rural communities. Markland Cottage Hospital was designated a Registered Heritage Structure by the Heritage Foundation of Newfoundland and Labrador in 2007. It was designated a heritage site for its historical, aesthetic and environmental attributes. The building has been preserved as closely as possible to its original state. Pictures of the former staff and patients are on the walls, placards mark what each room was originally used for and pieces of original hospital equipment are on display. Many local people were born here and enjoy coming to visit their unique birthplace.